

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting held on 10 September 2019 at Ashfield Service Centre

Meeting commenced at 6.30pm

Present:

Darcy Byrne Mayor

Victor Macri **Deputy Mayor** Marghanita Da Cruz Councillor Mark Drury Councillor Councillor Lucille McKenna OAM Colin Hesse Councillor Sam Iskandar Councillor Tom Kiat Councillor Councillor Pauline Lockie Julie Passas Councillor Councillor Rochelle Porteous Vittoria Raciti Councillor John Stamolis Councillor Louise Steer Councillor Councillor Anna York

Michael Deegan Chief Executive Officer

Deborah Lennis Aboriginal Programs Supervisor Ian Naylor Manager Civic Governance Katherine Paixao Governance Coordinator

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Council's Aboriginal Programs Supervisor gave a Welcome to Country.

APOLOGIES: Nil

DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS: Nil

The Chief Executive Officer acted in the role of Chairperson until the election of the Mayor.

C0919(1) Item 1 Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor

The Chief Executive Officer advised that the election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act and Regulations.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that he has received two (2) nominations for the position of Mayor and two (2) nominations for the Position of Deputy Mayor.

Motion: (Byrne/Passas)

THAT in the view of openness and transparency the election for Mayor and Deputy Mayor be conducted by a show of hands.

Motion Carried

For Motion: Crs Byrne, Da Cruz, Drury, Hesse, Iskandar, Kiat, Lockie, Macri,

McKenna OAM, Passas, Porteous, Raciti, Stamolis, Steer and York

Against Motion: Nil



The Chief Executive Officer advised that he has received nominations for the position of Mayor for Councillor Porteous and Councillor Byrne.

The Chief Executive Officer asked all Councillors who support Councillor Porteous being the first nomination received, for the position of Mayor to raise their hands.

Councillor Porteous received 6 votes from Councillors Da Cruz, Hesse, Kiat, Lockie, Porteous and Steer.

The Chief Executive Officer asked all Councillors who support Councillor Byrne being the second nomination received for the position of Mayor, to raise their hands.

Councillor Byrne received 8 votes from Councillors Byrne, Drury, Iskandar, Macri, McKenna OAM, Passas, Raciti, York

Councillor Stamolis abstained from voting.

The Chief Executive Officer declared that Councillor Byrne to be elected Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that he has received nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for Councillor Raciti and Councillor Steer.

The Chief Executive Officer asked all Councillors who support Councillor Raciti being the first nomination received, for the position of Deputy Mayor to raise their hands.

Councillor Raciti received 8 votes from Councillors Byrne, Drury, Iskandar, Macri, McKenna OAM, Passas, Raciti, York

The Chief Executive Officer asked all Councillors who support Councillor Steer being the second nomination received, for the position of Deputy Mayor to raise their hands.

Councillor Steer received 6 votes from Councillors Da Cruz, Hesse, Kiat, Lockie, Porteous and Steer.

Councillor Stamolis abstained from voting.

The Chief Executive Officer declared that Councillor Raciti to be elected Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor, Councillor Byrne assumed the chair.

Meeting closed at 6.34 pm.

The Minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of Council held on the 10 th day of September, 2019 were confirmed as a correct rec	cord
on this 24 th day of September, 2019.	

CHAIRPERSON